Cricket: Braydon Wilson Shine for Triumphant Curro Durbanville’s u/13 Six-A-Side Team



By Dries Badenhorst – This past weekend, Curro Durbanville’s u/13 Cricket Team took part in Brackenfell Primary School’s Six-A-Side Cricket Tournament. Other neighbouring schools that participated included Brackenfell Primary School, Durbanville Primary School, Eversdal Primary School, Panorama Primary School, Lochnerhof Primary School and Gene Louw Primary School.

The format of the tournament was: 6 Players per side, batting and bowling for 5 overs. All the players had to bowl an over, except for the wicket keeper. Teams got 4 points for a victory, 1 bonus point for a score of 50 plus and another bonus point for taking 6 wickets. The collection of bonus points was vital, as the 2 teams with the most points qualified for the finals.

The boys from Curro Durbanville started their quest for glory against Brackenfell Primary School’s B Team. Batting first, they started slowly and only managed to set Brakkies a target of 48 runs for victory. The depth of the Curro bowling attack ensured that Brackenfell never really threatened to reach the target. The victory earned Curro four points. By not putting 50 runs on the scoreboard, they failed to collect a vital bonus point, something that nearly cost them a spot in the final.

After the victory over the host’s B team, Curro played Gene Louw Primary School’s A Team. Batting second, Curro comfortably chased down the winning runs. With a score of 68 runs they also managed to collect a batting bonus point.

Back (From Left) Jaywin Thops, Braydon Wilson, Nicholas Govender & Christian Frensh Front (From Left) Jamie Ricketts, Kenoé Christians & Tiaan Visagie
Back (From Left) Jaywin Thops, Braydon Wilson, Nicholas Govender & Christian French
Front (From Left) Jamie Ricketts, Kenoé Christians & Tiaan Visagie

In the other matches, Brackenfell PS’s A Team and Panorama PS also won their 1st two games. They however both secured bonus points in both their matches. This meant that after 2 rounds, with one round to go, Curro Durbanville was 3rd on the log. In order for them to qualify for the final, they not only had to secure a bonus point victory over Lochnerhof Primary School, but the high flying team from Panorama also had to lose against Eversdal – a team whom failed to record a victory up to that stage.

Curro managed to deliver against Lochnerhof and secured the 5 points on offer. On the other field however, things seemed to go against them. Eversdal only managed to set Panorama a total of 33 runs to win. Based on their batting performance to date, Panorama Primary School was in the pound seat. Great bowling by Eversdal however stopped Panorama’s march to the final.

The final was a tense affair. Brackenfell batted 1st and set Curro a target of 58 runs to win. This meant that Curro had to bat @ a run rate of 11.6 runs per over, from the word go. Curro managed to keep up with the required rate until the end of the 3rd over. Jean Fourie, from Brackenfell Primary School, was responsible for the 4th over. He took a wicket and managed to build some pressure with his 1st 5 balls, swinging the momentum of the match in favour of the home team. A huge six by Braydon Wilson, of Jean’s final delivery,  however swung the momentum back into Curro’s favour as he continued to score the winning runs off the 1st 2 balls of the final over.

It was yet again a day in which all the boys from Curro played well. On the day however, Braydon Wilson stood out with both bat and ball and deservedly won the MVP Award for Curro.

It is the 1st time that Curro Durbanville managed to win this tournament.


Leave a Reply